

Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1) Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting MINUTES

August 20, 2024 @ 6:30 PM
District Office Boardroom & Video Conference

Trustees Present: Allan Shortt, Barbara Bell, David Wasylciw, Michelle Peters, Terry

Brookes and Tina Drew

Absent: none

Regrets: Jason Snaggs

Administration Present: Shirley Zouboules, Landon Kowalzik, Graham Arts, Lisa Vass, Jordan

Martin, Jean-Marie Mariez, and Pat Thagard

Guests present: none

Meeting Chairperson: Superintendent Zouboules chaired at the start of the meeting then

re-elected Chairperson Wasylciw took over as indicated.

Meeting Recorder: Pat Thagard

1. The meeting was called to order at 6:32 PM. Six (6) Trustees were present, quorum was met.

2. Chairperson Zouboules respectfully acknowledged that we live, work and, learn on Chief Drygeese Territory in the Akaitcho region, the traditional territory of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation.

- **3.** Superintendent Zouboules welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- 4. Declaration of Conflict of Interest

None declared.

5. Review and Approval of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson Election Process

Superintendent Zouboules reviewed the process that would be followed per the By-laws.

Motion #: 01/08-20/24-25

I move that the Yellowknife Education District No. 1 Board of Trustees acknowledge that this election will follow the process outlined in the Board By-Laws.

Moved by: Trustee Wasylciw; Seconded by: Trustee Brookes

Carried

6. Election of Chairperson

Superintendent Zouboules introduced Assistant Superintendent Arts and Secretary Treasurer Vass as the scrutineers for the election for the Board Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson positions.

Superintendent Zouboules called for nominations for the position of Chairperson.

Trustee Drew nominated Trustee Wasylciw.

Superintendent Zouboules then made two more calls for nominations. Sixty seconds after the third call Superintendent Zouboules declared the nominations for Chairperson closed. No additional nominations were made.

Trustee Wasylciw was asked if he accepted the nomination which he did. Superintendent Zouboules declared Trustee Wasylciw was acclaimed for another term as Board chairperson then turned the meeting chair over to Chairperson Wasylciw.

Chairperson Wasylciw called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson. The following nominations were made:

- ❖ Trustee Peters nominated Trustee Drew
- ❖ Trustee Bell nominated Trustee Brookes
- Trustee Brookes nominated Trustee Shortt

Two more calls for nominations were made. Sixty seconds after the third call Chairperson Wasylciw declared that there were no other nominations were made. He then asked each of the nominees if they would accept their nomination. All the Trustees accepted the nomination.

The scrutineers handed each trustee a coloured card to use for secret voting. Ballots for the position of Vice-Chairperson were collected and counted in another room. Chairperson Wasylciw was given the results. Chairperson Wasylciw announced that Trustee Shortt would be dropped off the ballot but there was no clear majority vote for Trustee Brookes or Trustee Drew. Using different coloured cards, another round of voting was held and counted. There was still no clear majority vote therefore trustees used a third colour of card to vote again. Once the third round of voting was complete and counted Chairperson Wasylciw announced that Trustee Drew had received the majority of votes therefore, she will serve another term as Board Vice-Chairperson.

Motion #: 02/08-20/24-25

I move to have the ballots from the voting for Vice-Chairperson be destroyed.

Moved by: Trustee Brookes; Seconded by: Trustee Shortt Carried

7. Other Organizational Items

Chairperson Wasylciw indicated that Committee and PAC assignments would be made available in the coming days.

8. Adjournment

Motion #: 03/08-20/24-25

I move that the Yellowknife Education District No. 1 Board of Trustees adjourn the organizational meeting.

Moved by: Trustee Peters; Seconded by: Trustee Drew Carried

The meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM

Signed when approved:

*	
David Wasylciw, Chairperson	Lisa Vass, Secretary Treasurer